Viagra and Cancer

Share it with your friends Like

Thanks! Share it with your friends!

Close

The role of erectile dysfunction drugs like Cialis and Levitra in the promotion and progression of prostate cancer and melanoma.

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at http://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free excerpt from his latest NYT Bestseller HOW NOT TO DIE. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from his books, DVDs, and speaking directly support NutritionFacts.org).

Sometimes it can take years for serious side-effects to be recognized, so rather than just covering up symptoms with drugs, we should treat the underlying cause with lifestyle changes whenever possible.

Here are some videos on doing just that for sexual health of both men and women:

• Survival of the Firmest: Erectile Dysfunction & Death (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/survival-of-the-firmest-erectile-dysfunction-and-death/)
• 50 Shades of Greens (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/50-shades-of-greens/)
• Pistachio Nuts for Erectile Dysfunction (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/pistachio-nuts-for-erectile-dysfunction/)
• Avoiding Adult Exposure to Phthalates (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/avoiding-adult-exposure-phthalates/)
• Best Foods to Improve Sexual Function (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/Best-Foods-to-Improve-Sexual-Function)
• Best Food for Antidepressant-induced Sexual Dysfunction (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/Best-Food-for-Antidepressant-induced-Sexual-Dysfunction)
• Saffron for Erectile Dysfunction (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/saffron-for-erectile-dysfunction)

What about for cancer?
• How Not to Die from Cancer (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-not-to-die-from-cancer)
• Strawberries vs. Esophageal Cancer (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/strawberries-versus-esophageal-cancer/)
• Which Fruit Fights Cancer Better? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-fruit-fights-cancer-better)
• Solving a Colon Cancer Mystery (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/solving-a-colon-cancer-mystery)
• Which Dietary Factors Affect Breast Cancer Most? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-dietary-factors-affect-breast-cancer-most)
• Breast Cancer Survival Vegetable (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/breast-cancer-survival-vegetable)
• Prostate Cancer Survival: The A/V Ratio (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/prostate-cancer-survival-the-av-ratio)
• Animal Protein Compared to Cigarette Smoking (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/animal-protein-compared-cigarette-smoking/)
• Who Shouldn’t Eat Soy? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/who-shouldnt-eat-soy)
• Tomato Sauce vs. Prostate Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/tomato-sauce-vs-prostate-cancer)
• Changing a Man’s Diet After a Prostate Cancer Diagnosis (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/changing-mans-diet-prostate-cancer-diagnosis/)

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/viagra-and-cancer and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/viagra-and-cancer. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgments for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.”

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Google+: https://plus.google.com/+NutritionfactsOrgMD
• Podcast : http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Comments

mjs1231 says:

Prostate problems have been cured. large amounts of testosterone have been shown to reverse and remove late stage prostate issues. This vid is outdated.

Jayyy Zeee says:

Viagra users are naked more. Ha!

Pushyhog says:

You talk bout like someone getting ready to cut your balls off.

Omer BM says:

Phillip J Fry, RWS and Noodle Doodle are just troll accounts that are most probably managed by a single person (likely milkjar). I wouldn't bother to answer this tryhard.

Alchemist-A says:

Inconclusive!!

pmgmail says:

You never fail to deliver 'Doc'…

Chimera says:

One of the poorer videos. Hard to draw any reasonable conclusion from the data other than observe a few swipes at people who eat fish or use Viagra.

Unfortunately, this video provides no support for whether vegans need to use Viagra more or less than the average meat eater. Or anything other than a weak observed relationship between one kind of cancer and erectile dysfunction drugs. My inspiration for pursuing a vegan lifestyle was physically fit with no blockage (he donated his body to a medical school which is how I know this) yet couldn't get it up when he was the same age as other meat eaters who were having sex. We may like to assume vegans are supermen sexually but where is the evidence? Looking down on meat eaters because we "know" they are not healthy is not science. My vegan friend also developed type 2 diabetes in his 60s even though he was not overweight.

I much prefer the more evidence based videos.

supersilverhazeroker says:

So is nofap unhealthy? (if you don't have regular sex, or sex at all)

Jasmina says:

Thank you greg greg

Robert Janowski says:

I wonder if there is a correlation with birth control and ovarian cancer.

Chill Winston says:

Glaucoma hmmm my mom always told me masturbation would make me go blind

at me says:

Dr. "put it to the test" Gregor

Vobe S says:

this why the dalai lama got prostate cancer guess they the real deal

Aaron Verran says:

Glad I won't be taking this scrap when I get older

Jeong-hun Sin says:

This wedding is hot!
Wake up, damn it.

White Kita says:

well, that's just another reason for men to go vegan… vegan men don't need toxic pills to keep it up….because unless they do mind altering drugs, drink alcohol or watch porn they are the best in bed!

Sebastian Tri says:

viagra is very dangerous… how about scaring the heart muscle..

White Ninja says:

I think the most severe side effect from Viagra is a non-steady speech pattern with inconsistent non-deliberate amplification of words proceeded by decreased amplitude for the words following such during speech delivery. Some chronic effects may be cropping up unexpectedly with said individual.

Stacey Fox says:

I’m more concerned about the idea that “what he eats ends up in his semen” ??? Does this mean carcinogens end up in it as well?? Medications that he takes?? And how does that affect the woman?

Shart says:

Vegans don’t need boner pills. Our penile veins aren’t clogged with grease and pig fat.

Write a comment